A Pretty Fort

November 20, 2008 Tess Aquarium

I'm going to try to get back into the habit of blogging more, but I don't really have regular access to a computer! I have a huge backlog of photos and stories to share but no time/computer time to do it.  Instead of playing catch up I'm just going to share what I worked on today 🙂

Last week my friend from work, Kari, came into work to buy sheets and blankets. She said she was making a fort and she was going to string lights on it and she was going to sit inside and drink tea.  I thought this sounded like a totally wonderful idea, especially coming from her (she's wonderful and day dreamy and so fun to be around. I should invite HER over for tea in my fort!) so I decided to build one of my own to take pictures in and possibly drink tea inside. Unfortunately I didn't have any working christmas lights, and it's WAY too hot in my building to drink tea (we don't control the heat, it's about 90 degrees in here!) but the same basic idea is here: sheet fort. 

I used 3 different sheets, 1 white sheer curtain, and one large white doily. I sewed the corners of the 4 panels onto the doily, attached the doily to one of the exposed pipes in my room (I tore down the ceilings last month to take full advantage of the tall ceilings that living in a warehouse provides) and thumb tacked the sheets to the wall and used yarn to vault the corners in interesting ways.  I made up my bed with the cloud print duvet that my friend found inside dollar-a-pound and lay down my fuzzy blanket. Then Lily and I jumped on and started taking pictures:

Lily and Tess in the fort

Of course Lily got tired of all the jumping up and down and bailed pretty fast. She probably would have bailed sooner had I put on one of her costumes (she has a tutu, a witches cape and a lion coat) so it was nice to hang out with her for a while.

Soon after bounced around for a while I noticed my goggles and space gun! For Halloween I worked all day so I had a number of costume changes, one of which was a "Space Pirate Cat" and the other was a "space Pirate Princess Cat" which doesn't really make sense unless you see the costumes (and even then…). Either way, both costumes required space guns which fortunately my housemate Sarah had quite a few of and eventually they ended up (with goggles) on the shelf near my bed. So of course I put them on 🙂

Moonage Daydream

I've recently been introduce to David Bowie informally via Flight of the Conchords, and now more formally via my friend Ike.  My favorite song is "Moonage Daydream" which has me quite taken and I sing it to myself all the time, even though I don't really know any of the words besides "moonage daydream" and something about a raygun. But I digress.

Today was one of those don't leave the house days (except to get groceries to make soup, more on that later) where I just took photos and typed on the computer I'm borrowing.  I am one of the few people in the building who has windows in their room which I'm very grateful for! It allows for some nice light (so long as I wake up early enough to catch it, now that it's winter it goes away fast!)  I got a few nice portraits in the light:

Inside my Fort

Fortrait

The last one is my favorite I think, the colors look good and my hair isn't too bright! Believe it or not my hair is a little bit desaturated! I recently re-dyed it and it's out of control. I washed it today in hope that it would fade a little bit but no luck. It's been nearly a week and I think I'm used to it which is good, but it's really difficult to photo!

Moving on, I don't have a picture but I made a soup that you might like to try. I make this is what I like to call "EPIC PROPORTIONS" since I live in a big space with lots of people (12 usually) so I make enough soup to share then have lots of leftovers! This recipe is very loosely written, I usually go from memory/feel/taste so it's difficult to remember what exactly I do!

Magical Don't Get Sick Soup

3 bags beans, any kind though I use black, pinto or kidney
4 onions
1 clove garlic
1 bag split peas
3 cups rice
2 yellow bell peppers
2 heads kale
4 cans stewed tomatoes

Add enough water to cover the beans plus a few inches. Bring to a boil, cover, turn off heat and let soak for 1 hour (alternatively, you can soak the beans for 8 hours overnight). Drain beans. Add a similar amount of water as before, bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer. Let simmer for a few hours until beans are soft. Set beans and beany water aside.

Chop onions, garlic and bell peppers.  Sautee onions and garlic until soft.  Add beans and enough water to fill 70% of the pot.  Add rice and split peas. Bring to a boil. Once boiling reduce heat and simmer for 20-40 minutes or until split peas and rice are cooked.  Add 4 cans of stewed tomatoes and tear off all the kale and shove it into the soup.  Let soup simmer until kale is softened.  Season to taste. I usually add salt and quite a bit of curry, cumin, cayenne, garlic powder, black or white pepper and whatever strikes my fancy.   This will serve a whole lot of people, and have leftovers for a long long time. It freezes well and is generally better the next day (the spices have time to develop!)

I'll try to take a picture tomorrow before I go to work to show you what it looks like!

Moving on to slightly more boring things, I just updated my etsy shop with some new goodies!

New things!


New Things!!

Lots of new stuff for fall, including some yummy sweaters and charming skirts.  Okay the sundress isn't really fally/winter but some part of the world are balmy right now! Anyway, my favorite two are the green and red skirts. The print on these is DIVINE and really quite unique!

That's it for my giant bloggity blog update. Hopefully I'll be able to do this more often, I've really missed it and frequently write blog posts in my head that I don't get a chance to post! Look forward to (hopefully) my write up of the boston Bhangra Competition, some fun new outfits and costumes that I've made/worn and more goodies in my shop! 

xomisstess

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. manda  |  November 21, 2008 at 12:53 am

    i love your hair 🙂


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts

 
